Daily Archives: December 18, 2012

12 Days of Christmas ~ Dining Delso

DSC_0013Let’s talk about pizza, shall we?  I mean, I know my boys would happily eat pizza on the 6th day of Christmas.  Truth be told, they’d be content eating pizza six days a week, probably.  Good thing we have some options in the DelSo.  First up – Gourmella’s!  I’ll begin by saying I’m not all that crazy about the name,or about the fact that the sign outside still says Pizzalo, another name I’m unimpressed by.  But, the folks inside have been nothing less than nice to deal with and the pizza has met the boys’ expectations, so I’ve moved past the unfortunate signage and naming confusion.  You should too, because the pizza, particularly when ordered “well-done,” is pretty good and the menu definitely has something for everyone.

My most recent visit there  proved, to me, that they’re good people to do business with – at least according to my standards.  Here’s what happened – I placed an order for pickup and arrived just as my pizza was coming out of the oven.  In addition to a pie, I ordered some wings and somehow that translated into a special combination, with special reduced pricing.  It also came with a 2-liter bottle of soda, an item that never comes into my house unless there’s a party and a bottle of dark rum or bourbon – which of the two depends upon the season,  of course.  When I declined the soda and asked if I could have one of those ridiculous cans of high fructose corn syrup-laden “tea” drinks, the guy behind the counter didn’t hesitate to say “Of course.”  Wow – that was an easy, quick and reasonably priced meal – something we can all agree is necessary during these busy holidays.  Give ‘em a shot, why don’t you?

2 Comments

Filed under Albany, Boys, Christmas, Delaware Avenue, DelSo, Dinner, Eating, family, Food, holidays, pizza, Recommendations

Albany’s Last Run

IMG_1583

There were fireworks!

Saturday night was the 16th annual Last Run in Albany.  This is absolutely one of my favorite races of the year – festive, fun and filled with friends.  This year, my friend Lisa got herself together and registered before the race reached its 1500 runner capacity and we had a blast!  The course for this run is fantastic – up State Street, across Willett and into and around the park.  It is such a treat to run through the holiday lights display and if the spirit of the season doesn’t touch you, well, it’s time for you to slow down a bit then.  The mayor was there to get things started and I was really pleased by the moment of silence he requested for the Newtown, Connecticut victims.  Well done.

As far as the race went I took 14 seconds off my time from last year, which is fine considering it is impossible to really run until nearly 3/4 of mile into the race.  That being said, I have to admit, I don’t run well with others.  I like to run my own pace, whatever that is, but Lisa and I found each other easily after the run and got up to some of our usual antics.  Trust me, enough said.  Can’t wait until next year!

Fab bourbon sour made by Jonathan at the Wine Bar & Bistro on Lark.  Yum, yum!

Fab bourbon sour made by Jonathan at the Wine Bar & Bistro on Lark. Yum, yum!

We were SEEN!!

We were SEEN!!

1 Comment

Filed under Albany, Christmas, drinking, Events, Exercise, favorites, friends, Lark Street, Local, Recommendations, running, SEEN