I ran (so far away) – 2012 race summary

photo(89)My goal for 2012 was to run one organized race or run per month and, if we take the number of races I ran and divide them by twelve, I accomplished my mission.  As I removed my race numbers from my bulletin board, I arranged them, as any borderline obsessive would, in chronological order and noted a couple of things:

  •      I didn’t get a bib at last year’s (1/1/2012) Hangover Half/3.5, but I do remember running it.
  •      There wasn’t a race in February or July that worked for my schedule but I did run two in June, two in October and two in December.
  •      My fastest 5k time was 24:28 in the Treetops to Rooftops race in June.  What can I say?  It’s flat.
  •      I never imagined I would push myself to 10k as a distance, but I did register for, and complete, two 10ks in 2012.  Woohoo!!  I guess the 15k Stockadathon should be my new challenge?
  •      Albany’s Last Run is near and dear to my heart.  Anytime I can run through Washington Park in the dark and feel comfortable and festive is a good time.

So, it’s a new year…what’s next?  Well,  I’ve got some different goals this year and, guess what?  They’re not all about faster and further.  Instead, I’m planning  to shift the focus to pleasure and enjoying the scenery.  I’m practically delirious by the thought of running in Amsterdam for the first time in 20+ years and hope to run in at least 5 countries this year.  Yes, five!  I’ll do my best to hit 15-20 miles a week and, as long as there is snow, feel free to mix it up by indulging in my love of cross-country skiing without guilt.  Actually, without guilt, and with enjoyment, is my ultimate goal for 2013.  How about you?

1 Comment

Filed under Exercise, favorites, running, travel, x-country skiing

One response to “I ran (so far away) – 2012 race summary

  1. If you used my math, you crushed your goal because two 10ks is really 4 races.

    For goals, I’ve still got to get my 5k in. That treetops race sounds right up my ally. I’d like to weigh less than 200 pounds even if it is just for an afternoon and I’ve really got to find time to go to a food swap.

Leave a Reply

