Levels of exposure

DSC_0010

Burned out

Things have been a bit odd lately,  to the point that I’ve been wondering about “being out there.” In recent weeks, I’ve been busy, almost exhaustingly so.  On more than one occasion, I’ve fantasized about getting that stomach bug everyone had so I could drop 5lbs and stay in bed for a couple of days. Pretty sad, right?  Or maybe you’ve been here, too?

There have been events in the past couple of weeks (in January, the “quiet” month we all need after the hecticness of the holiday season) that have made me concerned that my name and my face have been a little too present in the local news.  And, no, disappointingly enough, I wasn’t arrested at some meaningful  protest or anything. It started when I took some pictures at the Wine Fest and ended up, through no preference of my own, having a picture of me being featured on the TU website in that particular slide show of shots.  Ok, great, how vain do I look?  Whatever.

The following weekend’s tragic house fire kicked things up dramatically. First, there was the interview with the very nice, Lily Jaymil.  It seemed rude to not answer a few questions, and her attempt to extract something meaningful from me about the residents of the seriously damaged home was more polite than pushy.  It felt like only minutes after she left, when the doorbell rang again – this time it was Bryan Fitzgerald of the Times Union.  We had a quick conversation and I shared a couple of photos with him, which he included in his story, in print and online.

These encounters were, I felt, in the realm of what one could expect when there is situation like the one which occurred across the street from me.  The next couple of things, though, were beyond my DSC_0007comfort zone, both physically and mentally.  The news truck parked in front of my house, with its constantly running engine, was beyond disruptive.  The phone call I received at work 2 days after the fire, from someone seeking information about the identity of the person recovered from the scene, made me feel nervous.  Apparently, after seeing my name on the news, this person unleashed the power of the Google and tracked me down at the school district where I work.  His actions were born of innocent concern, but it still felt invasive and I was left feeling uncomfortable.

I accept complete responsibility for the extent that I share my “thoughts, experiences and adventures*” as a writer, but I do need to consider my comfort level, along with the perils of overexposure. Bear with me, ok?

*The DelSo blog motto in a nutshell.

4 Comments

Filed under Albany, DelSo, Events, musings, Random, stress, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Levels of exposure

  1. i’ve read this post twice and it seems mostly like a lead-in to something more. IS there something more? I can’t seem to get a handle on what you are trying to say. You appear to be writing around yourself in a manner that is unlike the blunt and forthright DelSo I’ve come to know.

    • You’re a tough reader, Mary! Been thinking about your comment and I agree, I ended on rather an abrupt note. As you mentioned earlier in the week, I do use the writing to work through things. Obviously this situation is still reverbing.

  2. It is one thing for you to share the thoughts experiences and adventures that you have specifically chosen to share with the world. It is completely different thing to have your picture in the paper followed, followed days later with a very public interview that basically gave the world your home address, followed days later by a stranger tracking down your work phone number. You didn’t sign up for that.

    Consider yourself “bear”ed with.

Leave a Reply

