Another squirrel story!

S6After my previous post, in which I confessed to holding a grudge against some  squirrels, you might be surprised to learn that I spent some time last weekend running a trail race called the Squirrelly Six.  All I can say is this: I mentally made it a grey squirrel rather than the despised red squirrel which caused poor Miss Suzy so much anguish.  Enough about my childhood issues – let me tell you about a great race!

The Squirrelly Six is one of two races run concurrently each fall up at Thacher Park.  The race I ran, as you might guess, is 6 miles of beautiful, challenging trail running.  The other race, perhaps one day in my future, is a ½ marathon known as the Hairy Gorilla.  The races begin together and then split near the finish for the S6 and I hear that the hardest part of the race comes in the first half.  Since I didn’t run the entire course I can’t confirm that, but I can say that there were a couple of intense hills that were kind of ass-kicking.  Or, on a more positive note, ass-firming.

Before and after the race, I shot photos for the TU and it was one of the easiest gigs ever.  The morning began sunny and the crowd was spirited and fun.  The race is extremely well organized and there was a pervasive mood of fun and humor.  It seemed to me that this particular group of runners truly knows how to have a good time and I didn’t feel the intense competition that I sometimes find intimidating.

Since my very first time running trails, I have been smitten with the experience.  The soft earth underfoot, the smells of leaves and dirt, the lighting…it is very much an activity which captures almost all the senses.  Speaking of senses, the aromas from the spread of food in the nearby pavilion were tantalizing!  Next year, I think I’ll attempt the Gorilla and reward my efforts with something from the plentiful buffet.

See you again in 2014, S6/HG!

1 Comment

Filed under Events, Exercise, friends, Local, running, SEEN, upstate New York

One response to “Another squirrel story!

  1. Debra

    And I see my friend Karen ran the race too! Nice shot of 2 wonderful ladies. Congratulations on the run.

Leave a Reply

