Taking a punch

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I began my day on the floor, next to Cassidy, my tears dripping on the softest fur a dog has ever had.  That’s why we picked her, you know.  In a litter of 11 beautiful black labs, she was different, wearing a lavender ribbon around her neck with fur that could only be described as fluffy. A dozen years later, her coat remains a marvel of softness.

Cassidy has been the only dog my boys have known.  In her younger years, she was my cross-country skiing buddy, joyfully covering miles of the golf course with me each winter.  For a number of years, we rented a house on the Cape which welcomed pets and Cassidy was a regular at the nearby pond, diving under the water to retrieve rocks.  She has been a wonderful, wonderful pet.

In recent days, she has not been herself.  There have been messy episodes which have required copious amounts of Nature’s Miracle to eliminate.  Her appetite has been compromised and I scheduled a visit for the vet.  My youngest, Q, asked to accompany me to the appointment.  I hesitated, not knowing what the diagnosis might be, nor how he would respond to the bad news I anticipated.  He earnestly told me this: “I’ve taken some punches, Mom.  I’ve had up times and down times.  I’ll be ok.” He came with me.

The visit was as expected.  It seems that our girl has a tumor in her abdomen, more than likely cancer.  She probably is experiencing some internal bleeding.  I’m crying now.  The vet gave me some medication to help with her bowels.  He said to feed her whatever she wants to eat and to take her home any enjoy her.  We’ll know when she needs us to let her go.

I made Cassidy turkey risotto this morning.  I can’t stop looking at her resting peacefully and wondering how many more mornings I’ll awake to find her sleeping on the stained carpet at the foot of my bed.

No matter how hard you prepare yourself, the punch to the gut of losing a beloved pet always hurts.  Even when your child dries your tears and tells you everything is going to be fine.

4 Comments

Filed under aging, Boys, cancer, family, love, Normanskill, x-country skiing

4 responses to “Taking a punch

  1. Feeling your pain, Silvia, and that of your boys. The loyalty, innocence and joy of a pet are unmatchable.

  2. Anonymous

    I have always loved Cassidy’s boundless spirit and loving energy, on the ski trails and slamming into me in greeting. Holding all of you in my heart as you pass through these difficult days.

  3. Third Auntie

    Nothing like a lab. My Lucy lived to be 14 years old. Hugs to you and your family.

  4. Oh, Silvia, I’m so sorry. Few things in life are as fulfilling as sharing your heart with your dog. You and your boys are in my thoughts. Love and spoil the heck out of your girl.

Leave a Reply

