Daily Archives: August 27, 2012

Thoughts on summer’s imminent end

A summer well lived can be defined as one in which the overnight bag gets unpacked, but not put away

The sweet spot of summer, for me, is when the days all seem to feel like Sundays

I understand there will be a lack of sympathy from those who don’t teach, but please believe me when I say there is never enough time to see all the friends I wish to spend time with – even with 2 months off.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                       The fruits and vegetables of summer are glorious but there comes a time when I begin to long for things that must be stirred and roasted – risotto!  Short ribs!    Root vegetables!

And, for the record, the weather this summer was spectacular!  In every way that last winter never arrived, summer showed up in spades.  Yes, it was hot and more rain would have certainly helped the farmers, but it was undeniably the real deal.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                       This week promises to be a flurry of activity with some unavoidable shopping (stop growing, fabulous Lilly boys!), a trip to the NYS Fair, a get together with my best old friends and an overnight visit to my favorite city.  Sometimes life gets in the way of writing, but I’ll do my best to take those interested along for the ride.
2 Comments

Filed under Summer