The Rose of Tralee – sort of

About a million years ago, I entered a beauty pageant known as The Rose of Tralee.  Yes, really.  There were two reasons I was prompted to enter the particular pageant I did – one being that my teenaged friend/nemesis V had won the contest the previous year, and the second that it was a contest geared to Irish-American princess wannabees and that had my name all over it.  Sign me up.  I knew I was sunk when my current events topic during the contest involved Northern Ireland and Ireland and I made parallels to the Middle East and other historical religious wars.  Nope, not quite what they were looking for.

Speaking of looking…here are some of the flowers I encountered during my visit to Ireland.  Hope you enjoy them more than I enjoyed that damn pageant.

DSC_0010

Click on photo for slideshow

Leave a comment

Filed under beauty, Flowers, Gardens, Ireland, Summer

Leave a Reply

