Getting myself into hot water

There’s something about a hot shower after a run on a fall night…Stripping off the layers of second skin UnderArmour and stepping into a steamy shower is one of my favorite parts of an evening run.  There is really only one thing that beats it, though, a hot bath!

Seriously, nothing compels me to get out the Ajax and scrub the tub more than my desire for a good soak.  As I prep the bathtub, my anticipation for 20 minutes of pure relaxation is almost as tangible as the ring around the tub from my last bath. A few minutes of cleaning and the way is paved for me to immerse myself up to my chin in bubbles – bliss.

Speaking of bubbles – do you have a favorite bath salt or brand of bubbles you like to use?  I haven’t really found one to settle on and instead tend to try new ones all the time.  My most recent purchase, Kneipp’s eucalyptus herbal bath, has proven to be a worthy contender for best smelling bubbles ever.  It only takes the smallest of capfuls (which is good because this stuff isn’t cheap) and the bathroom fills with a scent guaranteed to alleviate any sniffles or tightness in your chest. Amazing!

I’m in the market for an equally satisfying body scrub.  Any recommendations to share?  I’d even be open to making my own if someone could point me in the direction of a “recipe” that isn’t overly complicated.  I love fragrances like eucalyptus, rosemary and lavender, if that helps.  Thanks!

3 Comments

Filed under favorites, running, winter

3 responses to “Getting myself into hot water

  1. Anonymous

    You could try 3/4 cup of sea salt, 1/2 cup of a carrier oil such as jojoba or almond oil, and a few drops each of rosemary, lavender and eucalyptus oil to create your own scrub….

  2. Debra

    I would think you could mix some of that Eucalyptus bath bubble liquid with sea salt and make your own scrub as well.

  3. Thanks! I think I may have an idea for a little project…

Leave a Reply

