How much is that doggie in the window?

I’ve been stressing about getting a puppy.  There were the usual considerations, of course.  When?  What type of puppy?  From where?  Added to my dilemma was the criticism I received from a number of my friends on Facebook. Apparently, wanting a dog from a breeder rather than rescuing a dog from a shelter makes me a selfish person.  My response to that?  I’m sorry, but, bite me.

I do what I can to make the world a better place.  I don’t intentionally hurt anyone, nor do I thoughtlessly consume from, or sully, our planet.  When I have a pet, I take care of it – veterinarian visits as necessary, quality food, belly rubs and baths.  All of it.

That being said, I accept the fact that I can’t save the world.  It just isn’t possible.  I donate my time and money to charities which are important to me, and I respect those who work tirelessly for the less advantaged, be they humans or other living creatures.  I say that with complete sincerity.

There may be a point in time when I am in a position to offer a home to a dog who needs to be saved, but I’m not there right now.  I’m sorry but I don’t want an animal who has been abused or malnourished or neglected.  I’m not interested in rehabilitating or attempting to socialize a dog who has  been mistreated.  I’ve done that already, before I had children, and it was satisfying and wonderful, but this is not the right time in my life to do that again.

I reconnected yesterday with the lovely woman who provided us with Cassidy and the angst I felt about getting a new pet, and all the related questions, disappeared.  When I shared with her the life we had shared with the puppy she had entrusted to us, she cried.  The fact that I paid her for the privilege of raising an animal she brought into the world with intention, does nothing to minimize the importance of the relationship there was between our family and a special pet.

The reality is this: adopting a dog from a shelter or a rescue outfit can cost hundreds of dollars.  While the decision is far from purely fiscal, I’d rather spend $200 more and welcome a pet who has known nothing but love into my house.  If you’re offended by that, it isn’t my problem. It’s yours.

There’s a litter of puppies due next month and I am hopeful that Happy Brady Lilly will be joining our family later in spring.  I don’t believe the fact that (s)he will come with papers is really a reason for you to write them, or me, off.

In closing – “Dogs never bite me.  Just humans.”  Marilyn Monroe

3 Comments

Filed under Boys, family, musings, Rant

3 responses to “How much is that doggie in the window?

  1. Susan J. Armistead

    We are the soon to be sad family of the best dog in Orange County. Our 12.5 year old yellow lab, Murray. My 13 year old daughter’s whole life. We did a rescue first, and that rescue bit 2 children.
    We will also pay a bit more and return to that breeder.
    We love what you have written. I am crying as I write this.
    xoxo

  2. Pat Meeney

    Rock On Silvia. Facebook sometimes allows people to express themselves in matters that really are none of their business. You do what is best for you and your family and CONGRATULATIONS on the upcoming new addition to your family! I love the name Brady……girl or boy it works for both. (S)He is a LUCKY Dog to be joining your family! I cannot even imagine how hard it is to even look for a new dog after losing Cassidy and I admire you for putting the pieces of your broken heart out there again to LOVE and be LOVED by your puppy!

  3. Jessica

    There are many rescue organizations out there that take in puppies as well. So you could rescue a puppy, and that puppy would be no better/worse behaved than a puppy you get from a breeder. My husband and I have rescued two puppies and they have been wonderful additions two our family. Food for thought….

Leave a Reply

