Bon Appetit and me

As a wedding gift, nearly a couple of decades ago, I received a subscription to Gourmet magazine.  I very much admired the glossy photos and exotic locations featured in the magazine, but found myself discouraged by the recipes.  It seemed to me that each one had a minimum of 12 ingredients and involved at least 3 different and necessary purveyors.  I didn’t have time that.

I don’t remember how I came to subscribe to Bon Appetit, but suspect there was a niece and a school fundraiser involved.  How it started doesn’t really matter, I suppose.  The important fact is that I have continued to renew this subscription, even when I get totally annoyed because they repeatedly send me renewal notices for months and months prior to my present subscription expiring.

The latest issue caught me at a perfect time – a midwinter’s week at home with the boys. As I leafed through the magazine the other morning before heading to the grocery store, two recipes caught my eye, the Fauxtisserie Chicken and the Slow Roasted Pork Shoulder.  As is generally the case in Bon Appetit, the ingredient list was reasonable and easily obtained.  The only item which provided some challenge was the fresh marjoram, a new herb in my repertoire, but one I was willing to invest in since it was present in both recipes.

My chicken after about 2 hours of low roasting.

My chicken after about 2 hours of low roasting.

Friday’s chicken was as tenderly falling apart as promised, yet moist with a surprising spicy kick.  The potatoes which had been roasted alongside the bird were tasty, yet a little more firm than I expected.  There was a lack of basting juices so I added a few ladles of water about an hour into the three-hour roasting time.  Next time, I’ll add a little more.

My 7lb Boston Butt prepped for a looonnng slow roast.

My 7lb Boston Butt prepped for a looonnng slow roast.

Saturday’s slow roasting pork roast was a seven hour promise of what was to come.  My entire house was filled with the fragrance of Dijon mustard, sage, garlic and marjoram – intense and mouth watering.  After removing the roast from the oven, I deglazed the pan with a bit of red wine and tossed Friday’s remaining potatoes into pan juices for a quick reheat.  The pork was fork shreddable with a delectable skin crowning a layer of fatty deliciousness.  It was truly outstanding.

I never claimed to be a Gourmet, but I am all about Bon Appetit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Recommendations

Leave a Reply

