Hello, Wall!

After working for 16 of the last 18 days, I finally hit the wall today.  Maybe you heard the sound of me crashing around 4:30 Sunday afternoon when I returned home from the Hong Kong Bakery, my belly full of terrific Chinese food.  My initial thought had been to grab Jeter and head down to the dog park for a little bit of play time.  But, I started thinking about our last visit’s mud situation down there and my utter lack of interest, (or energy, it turns out), in giving both the puppy and the bathroom a thorough cleaning two days in a row, and decided that a nap for myself was more necessary than a play date for Jeter.  Sorry, puppy.

I climbed into bed with a book and was asleep in less than 10 minutes, a state I stayed in for nearly 2 hours.  Long naps are not typically my thing.  In fact, I boast of my ability to benefit from a mere 5 minute nap.  Sunday, though was different.  Both my body and my brain needed required demanded some down time.  I was tired.

If you know me, you’re aware that I like to pace myself.  All of the activity and events of the last few weeks, though, got away from me a bit and sleep was the only area that had “spare” time built-in.  I think I’ve averaged 5 hours or so of that precious state lately, no more than 4 of those hours  being consecutive and uninterrupted.  Work and boys and Jeter have conspired to challenge, and ultimately upset, my best intentions to balance living with rest.

I am so grateful that I’ve learned to recognize and respect my body’s need to regroup.  Saturday night, after waiting on what seemed to be the entire Western Hemisphere,* I fell asleep with the alarm set for 7:00 a.m. and a firm intention to both run and photograph a race in Saratoga.  That didn’t happen.  Even though I initially put my running clothes on, I just didn’t feel like busting my ass to do both tasks and I elected to go with the job that paid.  It was a good choice.

So, what do you do when you hit the proverbial wall?  If you’re anything like me, you pick yourself up, dust yourself off and sign the wall with a big ole Silvia was here.  And you just keep going.

*a bit of hyperbole, but there was a large table of Canadians as well as an even bigger table of folks from various countries in South America via NYC.

Leave a comment

Filed under musings, Random, running, Saratoga, SEEN

Leave a Reply

