Invading Normandy

Today is the 70th anniversary of D-Day.  Other than September 11, 2001, there is no other date in history which can bring me to tears faster.  If I spend even a moment considering the bravery of the Allied soldiers in the face of every obstacle imaginable, my eyes immediately well up.  I imagine the fear in the hearts of those ever so young soldiers and their commitment to their countries and my heart swells with pride to be a citizen of the country which played the most critical role on that day.

Next spring Liam and I will be again traveling to Europe on “his” special trip.  Our itinerary is in the early stages but we’re probably looking at about 9 days divided between Paris, London and Normandy.  I’ve explained to Liam that staying in large cities can be expensive, so we’ll probably limit ourselves to 2 days in London, 2 or 3 days in Paris and the remainder of the time in Normandy and the countryside.  He’ll be 18 and I am hoping for some time spent tasting wine with him, also.  When in France…

When it comes to traveling with Liam, he’s all about the transportation so we’ll be taking that high-speed train between Paris and London.  You know, through the chunnel?  Not really looking forward to that part, but I’ll save a Valium for that ride.

As we start hammering out details and making concrete plans, do any of you have any recommendations?  My plan is to fly into London or Paris and then fly out of the other city.  I’d prefer to not rent a car and rely upon public transportation instead.  I’ve been to London a half-dozen times, but have only minimal experience in Paris – and that was a long time ago.  I’m hoping to create a trove of memories during what may be my last mother-son trip with my eldest child.  Any suggestions would be welcomed!

I’ll be taking using this sentiment (minus the “secrecy” part) as my inspiration:

The invasion of France on June 6, 1944 was a triumph of intelligence, coordination, secrecy, and planning. “  Quote source: PBS.org

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Boys, family, travel, Wine

3 responses to “Invading Normandy

  1. Linda Fox

    As long as you are “chunneling”, why not take a day to spend in Brussels – de facto home of the EU. You can “do” Brussels in a walking tour in one day – it’s not huge. We happened on a protest of Tunisians – but on any given day there is probably someone protesting something – fun to watch and great people-watching. (We took our Flat Stanley!) You’ll get to see Mannekin Pis, have a waffle on the street and enjoy some good beer before getting back on the train for London.

  2. I haven’t been to England since I was a kid and don’t remember too much of it other than the changing of the guard. I do remember some of Paris. Probably helps that I returned there as teenager. Safety tip: The Arc de Triomphe is in the middle of a really busy traffic circle. I can remember being on my father’s shoulders as my family ran into traffic to get out to the Arc. Turns out there is an underground pedestrian tunnel out there. This is one tunnel I’d recommend you use.

  3. Good to know, Jon. My only other time in Paris, I was impressed with scaffolding which surrounded the Arc – it was lavender colored! Such a beautiful city.

Leave a Reply

