Calling bullsh*t

image: myfont.de

While I was driving down to Kingston last night to meet a friend, I was impatiently scanning radio stations looking to hear something that wasn’t some nonsense about how I’ll “only miss the sun when it starts to rain.” When I landed on Pink Floyd’s Money, I hit the button to stop scanning and turned up the volume. Good stuff, right?

The answer is yes and no. While the bass line still rings true, the censored version I heard rang false. Is the word “bullshit” really so potentially damaging or offensive that it can no longer remain in a radio broadcast? Have these concerned censors seen what is on television these days?

I know I’ve mentioned the sanitization of song lyrics before – I believe it was in reference to Tom Petty’s lyric about rolling another joint, but the hypocrisy of it continues to irritate me. On a regular basis my children witness advertisements about erectile dysfunction, see sexualized children hawking clothing and glimpse various versions of “reality” which couldn’t be further from the truth. I really believe they can handle a song lyric that references smoking marijuana or uses a word that, quite frankly, is in my frequent rotation of utterances.

You know what?  I think it’s bullshit.

1 Comment

Filed under Music, Rant, road trips

One response to “Calling bullsh*t

  1. Let’s see… Steve Miller Band’s “Jet Airliner” talks about the “Funky Kicks going down in the city” on the AM radio version. And most of the Knack’s Top 40 hit “Good Girls Don’t” is rewritten for AM radio play. And Johnny told the Devil, according to Charlie Daniels, “I done told you once, you son of a gun, I’m the best that’s ever been.”

Leave a Reply

