ARE Summer Trail Series – Week 2

image from Trip Advisor

This week’s run was remarkably different from last week’s Schodack Island romp. To begin, there was the weather. While last week was hot and humid, yesterday was overcast most of the day before a late afternoon clearing with an ideal temperature in the low 70s. The course was also quite different from the wide and flat trails we experienced Week 1 with much more narrow paths, lots of meandering tree roots and some noticeable, albeit short, hills. And, while both of the runs were riverside, the view from Peebles Island is dominated by beautiful water views (including kind of scary drop offs), a great deal of the time while SI was much more densely wooded and lush.

Jeter and I had company this week when we were joined by one of the lunar b*tches, as we made this our (belated) Strawberry Moon run. Another difference was that I was running with a bit of an injury. Earlier in the week, I noticed my right quad muscle was feeling a little tender, nothing too extreme, just a bit sore. Thursday morning when Jeter and went out for his morning constitutional, he excitedly and unexpectedly yanked the leash – hard, and I felt a pop of sorts in that same thigh. Yikes. I swallowed a couple of Alleve and gave my quad as much gentle attention during the day as possible.

I can’t say the run was my most comfortable endeavor, but as long as the terrain was fairly flat, I did fine. The hills were a bit more challenging and painful, but I’m happy to report today that I’m none the worse for the wear. I wouldn’t have wanted to miss Peebles Island – it’s kind of special. Next week’s run will be at 5 Rivers and unfortunately, Jeter and I have other plans. Keep your eyes here for the full schedule!

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise, friends, Local, running

Leave a Reply

