I voted “Yes” on the AHS project and now I’m sorry

image: pbs.twimg.com

Specifically, I’m sorry that I didn’t participate in getting the vote out. How sad is it that a decision as vital as whether to renovate and replace parts of the current high school could be decided by such a small percentage of the city’s population? Can’t we do better than that?

I’m also sorry that our city refused to grasp the opportunity to construct a single campus where all secondary programs could be administered. We could have provided a level playing field, one which would demonstrate our belief as a society that all areas of study, be they college or direct-to-career preparatory, are equally valid and important.

I’m sorry that the additional $5-10 a month in increased property taxes was a genuine consideration for so many home owners. I understand that taxes are a hardship for an awful lot of people and it is distressing. I, too, carefully weigh how to spend my income and am dismayed that such a disproportionate amount of the federal taxes I pay go to support military activities around the world which result in people dying. Of course, I don’t get to actually vote on that, though, right?

And lastly, I’m especially sorry that a city which has already demonstrated its desire to appeal to families by improving each of the elementary and middle schools, as well as expanding and updating the public library facilities, couldn’t find a way to finish the investment by correcting deficiencies in our one high school.

(For those of you who may not be aware of last week’s vote, read more about it here.)

2 Comments

Filed under Albany, Education, Local, News, Observations, Schools

2 responses to “I voted “Yes” on the AHS project and now I’m sorry

  1. Billy

    Please remember, that many of those “people dying” are evil people, like those who brutally murdered innocents in Paris.

    Killing evil people is good. It exactly helps to prevent the killing of innocents.

Leave a Reply

