Daily Archives: November 1, 2017

3 (Lunar) b*tches and a witch

On a recent and beautiful Sunday morning all three of the Lunar b*tches rendezvoused in Greenwich to run our last scheduled trail race of the season, the Wandering Witch. It was our first time running in this event and we couldn’t have asked for more ideal conditions – the sun was shining, foliage was popping and the scene was completely chill. Truly, perfect race conditions.

Start time was a civilized 9:30, which allowed for plenty of time for packet pickup and use of the real bathrooms. It also provided us with the opportunity to introduce ourselves to a woman we’ve each noticed in other races. I don’t generally approach strangers, but she was familiar to each of us and had a librarian related sticker on her car – done. Turns out she has almost 20 years on me, yet still managed to beat my ass in that particular 10k. Bravo, sister!

The course was a two lap jaunt through the woods, over some hills and around a few turns. Nobody really likes races that simply multiple a 5k route twice to get a 10k or thrice* for. 15k, but this course was so beautiful, that two times around was a treat. So pretty!

I didn’t finish dfl, but I was one of the last finishers. I just didn’t have any juice that day and ended up getting diagnosed with a sinus inflection a few days post-race. If I needed consolation for running this race, my state of health would be a reasonable one. Everyone who got to enjoy that morning was a winner already.

*thrice cracks me up!

Leave a comment

Filed under aging, beauty, Exercise, friends, Recommendations, road trips, running, sunday, upstate New York